: technoblag :

ramble, ramble

Posted in Microsoft, Music, Offtopic, Your Author by mrsli on January 21st, 2009

It’s cold outside today. Or at least what Floridians call cold. The annoying sort of cold that doesn’t quite let you dress comfortably. Unfortunately my rugby jersey and Dickies jacket do nothing for my hands and nose, but there’s not a whole lot I can do about it, so we deal.

On the wire this morning, is Microsoft trying to improve its image? Signs point to no, but Windows 7 points to maybe. Yet have I dove in, VirtualBox’s shortcomings notwithstanding, I can’t say I find myself too interested in this latest addition to the Windowverse. Perhaps Obama has inspired a change in old ways, and Microsoft could be no exception. Time will tell.

In security news, details have begun to emerge on the 2006 Congress cyberattacks. Oh it pains me to use that word, but being dramatic is why I make the big bucks. Or Big Bucks™. Fingers point to China, but I’ve seen Stand Alone Complex. We know it was the Japanese.

Ok, that was pure speculation based on a cartoon. But it was funny, right? …right?

Onto a lighter side, sort of, but no less important: Pandora is beginning to test the proverbial waters of inline advertising by adding commercials breaks to their – and this is just one sad sack blogger’s opinion – wonderful service. Though I must say, ads on Pandora just make Soma FM look more and more attractive. I can’t say I’m not jealous of Soma’s popularity, considering an advertising campaign of pure word-of-mouth, that much is certain. But I can’t help but wonder how Pandora’s advertising venture will play out with the free accounts like myself. Big surprise, I’m broke. Oh, and thanks for the recommendation, Wil[ref]. I’m going to continue to pretend that you know who I am.

In other news, I have class to attend. Stick with me, perhaps I’ll brighten your day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

